TUNDRA Super Late Models

The Unified Northern Drivers Racing Association seeks to keep Super Late Model racing affordable while putting on the most entertaining program possible.

Morrissey To Enter Alive For Five Round Five Saturday

Posted on Sep 7, 2011

Morrissey To Enter Alive For Five Round Five Saturday

Jeff Blaser Photo Photography

WISCONSIN DELLS, Wis. (September 7, 2011) – One of the top Super Late Model drivers in the Midwest will be making a return to Dells Raceway Park this Saturday in the Alive For Five Super Late Model Series presented by Advanced Engine Concepts.

Andrew Morrissey, who is enjoying one of the best seasons of his young career, will return to Wisconsin’s Showcase Short Track this Saturday for the first time in over a year. In his last visit to DRP with the ASA Midwest Tour, Morrissey recorded a fifth place finish.

Perhaps no driver in the country has been redeemed more this season than Morrissey.

After a hot start to his career the Deforest, Wis. driver seemed to hit a speed bump over his last two seasons. In 2008 Morrissey joined the ASA Midwest Tour on a full-time basis and finished sixth in standings. In 2009 he fell to 14th and returned to a slight upswing last year by finishing tenth.

With high expectations from his first few seasons of winning features at DRP, Madison International Speedway and Slinger Speedway, Morrissey admitted earlier in 2011 that technology got away from him in past campaigns.

Now that Morrissey has caught up to the technology, he is the one who gets away. With three fast times on the season in ASA Midwest Tour action, Morrissey has a healthy 70-point advantage atop the Tour standings with just two races remaining.

“(We’ve spent) a lot of time working on the car real hard and doing our homework,” Morrissey said after a strong third-place finish in the ASAMT race at Wisconsin International Raceway in May. “We’ve had problems getting the car to handle with these new setups and now we’re starting to figure it out.”

Morrissey will provide an excellent test for the front-running Super Late Models of the AFF. On the strength of one win and three fourth-place finishes, Frank Kreyer leads the standings and is looking for his first Super Late Model Championship at his home track. A potential bandit of the crown could be Jeff Storm who sits 42 points behind Kreyer and is the most recent winner in AFF action.

Accompanying the Super Late Models this Saturday are all four DRP weekly divisions, which will wrap up their 2011 seasons. The Budweiser Late Models will also have a big prize waiting at the end of the night. The Wegner Automotive Research Fast Dash Clash, which pits 12 of the best Late Models from the 2011 season in a 20-lap race, will round out the evening and pay $2,000 to the winner.

Qualifying for an action-packed Season Championship Night begins at 4:45 on Saturday with racing scheduled to begin at 6:30.

As a salute to those who have sacrificed and in remembrance of the 10th anniversary of the Sept. 11 attacks, all Military (active and veteran) and Public Safety Officials will receive free grandstand admission this Saturday by presenting their I.D. or credentials.
Dells Raceway Park is located at N1070 Smith Road, five minutes north of downtown Wisconsin Dells, Wis., off highway 12-16. For more information including the latest news, the 2011 schedule and more visit www.dellsracewaypark.com.

Alive For Five Super Late Model Expected Entry List (as of 9/7/11)

2 – Ken Reiser, Waukon, Iowa
2 – Mike Bilderback, South Beloit, Ill.
3 – Jeff Weinfurter, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
4 – Mike Gunderson, Cross Plains, Wis.
7 – Caleb Fulcher, Menominee, Mich.
7 – Mark Kissinger, West Bend, Wis.
9 – Tim Lampman, Oak Creek, Wis.
10 – Andy Monday, Appleton, Wis.
11 – Robert Kendall, Montello, Wis.
12 – Terry Schoppenhorst, Berlin, Wis.
17 – Landry Potter, Lake Geneva, Wis.
18 – Robert Maynor, Colgate, Wis.
18 – Frank Nitzke, Berlin, Wis.
19 – Jason Cox, Park City, Ill.
19 – Troy Nelson, Antigo, Wis.
21 – Jesse Pokszyk, Friendship, Wis.
22 – Dave Trute, Mauston, Wis.
24 – Max McNamara, Ingleside, Ill.
25 – Jeff Storm, Waterford, Wis.
28 – Ryan Hood, Niagra, Wis.
39 – Andrew Morrissey, Deforest, Wis.
40 – Curt Tillman, Rockford, Ill.
42 – Dennis Prunty, Lomira, Wis.
44 – John Zimmerman, Markesan, Wis.
51 – Corey Jankowski, Tomah, Wis.
51K – Frank Kreyer, Wisconsin Dells, Wis.
54 – Kevin Baldry, Omro, Wis.
57 – Steve Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis.
75 – Tom Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis.
77 – Amanda Ferguson, Clermont, Fla.
87 – Jamie Wallace, Pell Lake, Wis.
89 – Mike Egan, Slinger, Wis.
98 – Molly Rhoads, Hastings Minn.
119 – Dalton Zehr, Daytona Beach, Fla.